School board candidate campaigns on MySpace

Here’s an idea: Open a free MySpace account, post your resume, and make the case that you’re the best candidate for the local school board. Michelle Frechette Ames is doing it, and more power to her. This looks like a new site. I’m assuming that she’ll soon post in detail about local school issues and how she will address them.

3 Responses to School board candidate campaigns on MySpace

  1. Darren says:

    Ah yes, I’m not sure if I was the first to do it or not, but I had a school board campaign myspace page back in mid-Jan. of this year. The listing for my site is below. It has an updated blog, check it out.

    http://www.myspace.com/votedgb213

  2. paul says:

    nice looking site. how did the election go? how much of a factor was your blog in the results?

  3. Darren says:

    Thanks for the positive comment on the site. I lost the election by a total of 42 votes. I think I did pretty good for myself given the conditions. The blog, I doubt had any effect in the election. It was just a means to update my Myspace friends and fans of the campaign. My goal w/ the Myspace account was to recruit young voters, as they are my peers. I do not believe many of them voted, so my efforts w/ this work were of little avail.

Leave a Reply

