I don’t know what RSS is. . . ?!

A few minutes before presenting at a breakout session of the NSBA T+L conference in Dallas today, I sat at a table in a common area at the Convention Center, checking mail, scarfing a sandwich, etc. Some folks near me were studying the conference guide. Someone said, “I don’t even know what RSS is!?” I smiled and said, “Come to my session.”

A little later, during the breakout, I asked the 75 or so people what RSS means. Someone said, “Really Simple Syndication.”

Yes! and Rich Site Summary! and I showed screen shots of a few organizations that offer sophisticated and focused RSS subscription options.

Here are some I didn’t have time to mention in my presentation. I offer these as a model for schools and districts and colleges who want to customize their news and outreach for specific target audiences:

The Washington Post

The New York Times

PBS

Leave a Reply

