How do you organize multiple data directories?

I hope I’m not alone in this.
I store important information in a number of categories across different kinds of data in different directories. There is some overlap among categories, and maybe some possibilities for some meta-system of organization. But generally speaking my data directories are not aligned.
My email inbox contains 16 folders and 73 subfolders. Documents on my hard disk (data) live in 27 folders and 55 subfolders. My web browser bookmarks contain 18 folders and 19 uncategorized links (much better than it was before I recently organized it).
My question is: Does this make any sense?
Is Google Desktop search the only option?
How do you manage all your stuff?
Maybe it’s time to hold a garage sale.

Leave a Reply

