Search tools complementary

I've found two search tools, one automated, one partly automated, that help me track subjects of interest in the blogosphere and on the web in general.

Google Alerts notify me via email as soon as Google notices one of my selected keywords or key phrases on the web. You can choose to be notified right away, via email, or have your notices batched and sent all together, once per day. When I get an email alert, I open it and get something like this:

google alert

Technorati's Watchlist tool tracks my key words and phrases, too. But Technorati follows blogs, not the web in general. So this function complements Google Alerts.

technorati watchlist

But it's not as convenient. I have to log in to Technorati and click on Watchlist, then click on each key word or phrase to see whether anything is new. Often, in fact, there is nothing new, but I won't know that until I check.

correction: Technorati offers an RSS service at no charge, so one can check updates in a news aggregator.  

Nevertheless, I'll continue to use both tools to track what's being said about education research, public relations, and related things.

6 Responses to Search tools complementary

  1. alexander says:

    if you use RSS, then you can get your Google Alerts and your Technorati all in one place.

  2. paul says:

    Thanks Alexander. I checked that out and I see the RSS options is available through the Professional version which costs $19.95 per month. At the moment I’m using the free version. So I’ll have to decide whether that option is worth it to me. Paul

  3. Dan Karleen says:

    The RSS-fed alerts through Technorati are free.

  4. paul says:

    That's true, and I should have included that in my post. Now if I could only get my Google Alerts as RSS, that would be ideal. But I'm not sure I want to shell out the $$.

  5. Dan Karleen says:

    Google News (http://news.google.com) offers RSS-fed alerts.

  6. alexander says:

    you’ve probably already figured this out, but RSS feeds via google don’t cost anything.

Leave a Reply

